Bye bye 2015, and a resolution

I know it sounds absolutely lame and everyone always says the exact same thing, but can you believe how quick another year has passed? It has always been weird for me how time seems to go by faster and faster every year until someone recently told me something, that explains it all and makes perfect sense: relative to the time we have already lived, a year will always become shorter and shorter. So for example if you are two years old, one year is half of your life. If you are twenty, one year is only five percent of your life. Makes sense? It kind of does to me, but at the same time, it’s pretty scary because it means that the years will pass by even quicker. But enough of that now, before I get my brain into a knot.

Now is the time when there’s one of these posts on pretty much every blog on the internet, looking back on the old year and making plans and resolutions for the next one (or this one, I suppose).

I think I can say that 2015 has been the most eventful year for me so far. Apart from maybe when I was a child. Learning to walk must have been quite a big deal. But I’m sure you get what I mean. Nothing massive has happened like a trip around the world, but just smaller things that might not look like such a big deal to anyone else, but they are to me. I worked at different places, had to give up a job I loved for a slightly less fun office job so that I would meet with the entry requirements for the university I wanted to go to. I passed the admission test for the course (they’re really not making it easy for their future students), started studying and moved out into a flat with two of my best friends. That’s for the big bits, the more significant things that have happened. On the smaller side: I met a lot of new people, made new friends, lost some, got my heart broken, turned into an emotional wreck (only temporarily, I hope!), went on two great holidays, I blogged a lot, then not at all and started again, thanks to my friend Noemi.

But now to the new, fresh year ahead. This year, I didn’t make myself any specific resolutions. I don’t even want to look at my New Year’s resolution post from last year… As far as I can remember, that didn’t go too well! The only resolution I’m making for 2016 is to be happier than I was last year. Keeping it simple.

I wish you all a wonderful new year and hope that you will stick around this space for the months to come.

Love,
Anna

Leave a Reply

